EFC 75 wrap: Zulu reigns supreme

EFC 75 wrap: Zulu reigns supreme

EFC flyweight champion Nkazimulo Zulu retained his crown with a fifth-round submission of Gary Joshua at GrandWest Arena in Cape Town on Saturday night.

In a hard-fought affair, Zulu (10-2-1) handed Brazilian jiu-jitsu brown belt Joshua (4-1) his first loss with a guillotine choke in his third title defence, which was named ‘Fight of the Night’.

In the co-main event, Luthando Biko (5-1) won the interim bantamweight belt with a dominant performance against England’s Callum Ellenor (7-2) over five rounds.

Biko’s takedowns and mat control were too much for a game Ellenor, as he got the unanimous decision and earned a crack at 61kg champ JP Buys (6-2).

The division was put on hold as Buys prepared for his Brave Combat Federation debut last weekend, which he won by disqualification against Russian Gamzat Magomedov (3-1) in Lahore, Pakistan.

Earlier, Ellenor’s compatriot Joe Cummins (5-1) outclassed Armand Scheepers (3-2) with a second-round TKO of the Capetonian.

Cummins bullied Scheepers, who exceeded the welterweight limit for the second fight in a row, on the feet and ground, getting the finish with a barrage of unanswered strikes after securing a cross-body crucifix.

Mzwandile Hlongwa (4-0) gave Torbjorn Madsen (5-1) his first defeat with a hellacious spinning backfist that knocked the Norwegian out cold in the first frame of their middleweight contest, earning a performance bonus in the process.

In the main card opener, Faeez Jacobs (5-2) registered a second straight first-round win with a TKO of late replacement TC Khusu (2-4) in a featherweight bout.

Jacobs, who previously spoilt fan-favourite Tumisang Madiba’s (7-6) return from suspension at bantamweight, finished Khusu with ground-and-pound after arresting a takedown attempt with nasty elbows.

Nico YamdjieThabani MndebeleSaxon Delafield and Kulekani Hlongwa also earned bonuses for their efforts in the prelims.

EFC 75 results in full:

Serge Kasanda defeated Chad Hepburn via technical decision (medical stoppage) at the end of round 2.

Shane Higgins defeated Benjamin Mangala via TKO (strikes) 2:40 into round 1.

Khulekani Hlongwa defeated Willem Smith via knockout 0:44 into round 1.

Fafa Dwama defeated Themba Mkhize via split decision.

Chris Dove defeated Corné Blom via TKO (strikes) 2:47 into round 1.

Thabani Mndebela defeated Nico Yamdjie via unanimous decision.

Saxon Delafield defeated Regis Muyambo via TKO 1:13 into round 1.

Faeez Jacobs defeated TC Khusu via TKO 4:17 into round 1.

Mzwandile Hlongwa defeated Torbjørn Madsen via KO 1:11 into round 1.

Joe Cummins defeated Armand Scheepers via TKO (strikes) 3:07 into round 2.

Luthando Biko defeated Cal Ellenor via unanimous decision to take the interim EFC bantamweight title.

Nkazimulo Zulu defeated Gary Joshua via submission (guillotine choke) 2:25 into round 5, to retain his EFC flyweight title.

Leave a Comment